Game Night

26 May

If there’s one thing I like it’s a good old-fashioned game night.

My six-year old has become rather upset recently, because everyone has been playing The Settlers of Catan and she’s too young to understand the rules. I promised her that I’d pick up a game that she could play with us and I discovered this little gem from Dice Maestro.

Wildlife Rescue takes elements from Yahtzee and requires you to rescue animals by rolling at least 3 dice of the same type. Animals have points based on rarity and you can earn bonus points by finding all the animals on your zoo card. Another nice touch is the ability to use a zoo transfer card to steal a creature from one of your opponents. It’s a fantastic little game with a fast pace and easy to learn rules.

After the girls went to bed, my friend Greg came around and we settled down for a couple of games of Khet 2.0. I won’t go into it too much here as I’ll be working on a more detailed review soon, but suffice to say it’s a very interesting boardgame that has you manipulating pieces to finish off your opponent. The nifty thing here though is that most of your pieces have mirrors on them. At the end of a turn you activate a laser on your sphinx and it will bounce off the other mirrors and hopefully destroy one of your opponents pieces. Khet 2.0 is a very strategic game that requires a lot of thought to play, but it highly enjoyable all the same. Again. I’ll have a more detailed examination of the game next week.

Last, but by no means least were a few games of Magic: The Gathering. It was a good opportunity to test out my new cards from New Phyrexia, but if I’m honest my new Knights deck needs quite a lot of work. It managed to hold its own against Greg’s red deck, but was quickly decimated by Caw Go. Needless to say I’ll be going back to the drawing board and rethinking my options.

I also played my first game of Elder Dragon tonight as well. I’ve never been keen on it in the past, due to the insane cost of the cards, but it turned out to be pretty good fun, and I firmly trounced Greg’s blue control deck with lots of red burn and plenty of goblins.

All in all a good night, although I’m desperate to get down and dirty with Wrath of Ashardalon. Oh well. Maybe next week…

One Response to “Game Night”

  1. DoctorMikeReddy June 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    There’s a sadly not recently updated iPhone app called Beam Chess which is rather like Khet. The A.I. is minimal, but worth a look.

Leave a Reply

